Day 2: Entering Mexico

Entering Mexico in Tijuana took literally one minute. They didn’t even want to see my passport or driver’s license – just the registration. I have a feeling that coming back won’t be as easy.

I rode around Tijuana for a bit – my GPS decided to turn itself off or crash every couple of minutes, which didn’t make this easier. Thanks Garmin. I stopped and gave it a couple of good whacks, which seemed to fix it.

The drivers in Mexico are by far not as bad as I feared. At least they have the good sense to go fast enough, unlike in the US.

I went down the coast towards Ensenada and ate something on the way. 110 pesos seemed a lot – I didn’t realize that when the Mexicans say “un pollo”, they mean an entire chicken. I ate half of it and packed the rest.

I got bored pretty quickly on the main road, so I took a smaller road which was on my map but not the GPS. At some point I took a wrong turn, and ended up on increasingly small unpaved roads, then on single trail, and when that ended, I just went across the desert and made my own trail.

image

image

image

The bushes and sticks kept on whipping my feet off the pegs, so after an hour or so I decided to turn around. About an hour into another unpaved road, I found a campground with hot springs and a pool, so I set up my tent there. Quite the lucky find!

image

image

Fortunately I still had the chicken from lunch, or so I thought. It must have escaped the cargo net somewhere along the way. The nice people at the campground made some hot food for me even though they were closed. Viva Mexico!

image

